Blog Archives

COVER REVEAL! The January Wish

TheJanuaryWishcoverTa da! What do you think? It’s amazing to finally see this story come to life as it’s been a long road to publication for this one. I think the cover really suits the feeling and emotion of the story, and hints at the secrets hiding behind the characters and this small coastal town.

Thanks to the team at Harlequin Australia / Escape Publishing for another fab cover!

The January Wish will release on 1st January 2014 and kickstarts my Tarrin’s Bay Series, and the good news is you won’t have to wait long for the second installment – February or Forever releases a month later, on 1st February! Yep, I’ve been hard at work making sure I could have the second one ready for readers right away 😉

So what is The January Wish about? It’s a sweet, emotional romance about the pleasures of making a wish and seeing it come true. It’s a blend of contemporary romance and women’s fiction, perfect for fans of Susan Wiggs and Sherryl Woods. This story is unique in that it is told in three points of view, one of which belongs to an eighteen-year-old girl whose journey and romance of her own make this a New Adult (NA) and Adult story in one! It’s also a small town romance, a coastal romance, and a medical romance (just to cover all bases, you know?) 😉

When Dr Sylvia Greene makes an impromptu wish at the Tarrin’s Bay Wishing Festival, it’s the most out of character action she can think of. Hers is not a life of wishes. Hers is a controlled life of order, plans and preparation…of science and research and diagnosis and treatment. But her past has been weighing on her mind, and decisions made long ago have far-reaching consequences.

A week later, the daughter she secretly gave up for adoption at sixteen arrives in Sylvia’s small coastal town with secrets that can’t be shared. Between feelings of guilt, gossip, and a growing attraction to an emotionally unavailable colleague, Sylvia’s well-ordered life is soon thrown into chaos. She is no longer alone, and for the first time she feels as if her world is open to possibilities.

They say be careful what you wish for, but, for Sylvia, the unexpected consequences may be just what the doctor ordered.

This book was the second book I ever wrote, and went through lots of revisions to make it the best it could be, and I was thrilled when it was announced one of the six finalists in the Choc Lit Publishing Search for an Australian Star contest in 2012.

The setting of the story, Tarrin’s Bay, is based closely on the town I live in on the South Coast of NSW, Australia, so I hope I’ve captured the heart and soul of this special place on the page for reader’s to enjoy… Tarrin’s Bay is known as The Town of New Beginnings.

If you’d like to see some pictorial inspiration for The January Wish, you can visit my Pinterest board here. And add it to your Goodreads shelf here!

So until January 1st… I hope your wishes come true 🙂

~ Juliet xx

Advertisements

Ten Awkward Questions with Aurelia B Rowl [Plus bumper giveaway!]

In this segment, authors will be subjected to a list of awkward questions that may reveal more about themselves than they really wish to share, and they will receive a score on the ‘Braveometer’. If they choose to answer only five questions, they are a ‘Brave Author’, if they answer 6 to 9 questions they are a ‘Mega-Brave Author’, and if they answer all 10 questions they are an ‘Ultra-Brave Author’! 

Please welcome Aurelia B Rowl, author of contemporary romance and young adult/new adult crossover to the blog today as part of her blog tour for Popping the Cherry!

 

85257521. If only one of your books could have been / could be published, which one would you choose? (C’mon, I don’t want to hear ‘Oh, I love them all, there’s no way I could choose.’ Time to be ruthless, these are the Ten Awkward Questions after all!)

I’d have to say Popping the Cherry – even though I will be forever grateful for Christmas is Cancelled – but Popping the Cherry was the first time it didn’t feel like a fluke, plus it’s in my favourite genre to read, full-length rather than novella, and there is a large cast of characters who were all heaps of fun to write. Plus I got to write it in British instead of having to Americanise it, and it is was signed by Harlequin UK’s new digital imprint Carina based purely on the first three chapters, which made me feel on top of the world. I finally felt like a ‘proper’ writer.

 

2. Okay, now which one of your children/family members would you… nah, just kidding! Which of the following words most accurately describes your best personality trait (you must pick only one!):

Punctual. Good listener. Neat.  Graceful. Generous. Cheerful.

Hahahahaha. Okay, sorry, I’ll try to get myself together and get my laughter back under control… I’ll go with ‘cheerful’ seeing as children have killed my punctuality and neat genes. I am a good listener, but every conversation now has random interruptions from said children, and I’ve always been clumsy, yet elegant 😉 I hope I am considered generous, with my time and my knowledge if nothing else, seeing as there isn’t much else I can give.

 

3. Which of the following words most accurately describes your worst most challenging personality trait (even if you’re perfect, you must pick one):

Always late. Blabbermouth. Slob. Complete klutz. Scrooge. Grumpy pants.

Only one? That’s not fair! I could do so much better with this set, maybe even a full house on the more ‘challenging’ days. Since I can only pick one, I shall go for slob, purely because I can’t do everything with two young children and writing deadlines so something has to give, and that something just happens to be housework. Complete klutz can’t be far behind though, considering as I gave myself concussion at the kids’ sports day at school, at least I still walked away with the prize. Pity I don’t drink red wine really, but my husband was happy.

 

4. Have you ever had a romantic crush on one of your characters? Who and why?

Just one? I write books that I like to read, and heroes that make me swoon and fall a little bit in love. So yes… I have a soft spot for all of my leading men, even the ones seventeen years my junior, but sssssh, don’t tell 😉

 

5. When writing an important scene, do you act it out to allow you to better describe what’s happening?

I have a tendency to pull the facial expressions I want to use, so that I can then write them with some accuracy. Thankfully the dog doesn’t seem to notice, and if he does, he’s good enough not to call me on it. As for important scenes, no, I don’t act them out but I do get so emotionally invested I am often left either sobbing or in a foul ‘stand clear before she blows’ kind of mood.

 

6. Do you talk to yourself when writing or coming up with plot ideas?

I don’t talk to myself out loud, but I do have a habit of staring into space with a vacant look on my face as the conversations flow back and forth inside my mind.

 

7. Who would be ideal to play YOU in a movie of your life?

Ha, easy! I choose Kate Winslet. She’s gorgeous, fun, bubbly, curvy, a hard-working mum…and she’s within hours of being the exact same age as me. I’m not actually sure which of us is the elder.

 

8. If you could be any book character for one day, who would you be and why?

I’m going to go with my instant reaction to this, rather than give it a lot of thought, and say Hermione from Harry Potter. She’s smart, nerdy, out-spoken, a bit of a jobsworth and know-it-all, but she’s kind-hearted, brave, considerate, and fiercely loyal.

 

9. You’re about to be left on a deserted island for a year, and while your basic food and water needs will be met, you can only bring one extra thing from the following. Which would you choose?

a) A pen and notepad that never runs out

b) An unlimited supply of books

c) An unlimited supply of chocolate, coffee, or alcohol (your choice)

d) A gorgeous man/woman depending on your preference

I very nearly opted for b) an unlimited supply of books, but upon further consideration, I shall go with a) a pen and notepad that never runs out, so that I can both stay sane and supply said unlimited supply of books. I get sucked in whenever I read my own work and tend to forget I wrote it, so it would work out beautifully.

 

10. If you had the attention of the whole world for two minutes what would you say?

Ooooh, I like this question, and in the end my words could just as easily be said in a playground full of pre-schoolers:

“Please stop fighting and try to get along, it’s okay to be different and to like different things, and stop being so downright greedy and share with those less fortunate than you.”

 

Congratulations Aurelia, you have been awarded Ultra Brave Author status on the Braveometer!

Ultra-BraveAuthor

>>Visit Aurelia online at her website: www.aureliabrowl.com or you can find her hanging out online, far too often, at the following: 

Blog  ¦  Facebook  ¦  Twitter  ¦  Google+  ¦  Pinterest  ¦  BlogLovin  ¦  Tumblr  ¦  YouTube  ¦  Linked-In  ¦  Amazon  ¦  Goodreads

>>Enter the bumper blog tour giveaway via rafflecopter below!

>>And check out Aurelia’s new release, POPPING THE CHERRY, which you can buy via these stores:

Carina  ¦  Amazon UK  ¦  Amazon  ¦  iTunes  ¦  Google  ¦  Sainsburys  ¦  Nook UK  ¦  Kobo

PTC-jpg

>>UK Giveaway: 5 specially commissioned metal bookmarks, 1 Topshop gift card, paperback books – Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares, New Girl, Speechless, & The Eternity Cure.

a Rafflecopter giveaway
>>International Giveaway: 1 x $15 Amazon gift card, and ebook series packs including – Peachville High Demons x 6 books, The Dreamwalker series books 1 & 2, Dusty the Demon Hunter x 6 books, & The Sojourner series omnibus.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

More details on the giveaways can be found here. Good luck!